Public Interest Disclosure

This page contains information on the Public Interest Disclosure Act 2013.

Page last updated: 14 November 2018

The Public Interest Disclosure Act 2013 (PID) commenced on 15 January 2014. The Act provides an avenue for public officials to make a disclosure that they reasonably believe meets the definition of disclosable conduct. The Act also aims to promote the integrity and accountability of the Commonwealth public sector by:

  • encouraging the disclosure of information by public officials about suspected wrongdoing in the public sector;
  • ensuring that public officials who make disclosures are supported and protected from adverse consequences; and
  • ensuring that disclosures are properly investigated.

What is disclosable conduct?

This means conduct by an agency, public official or a contracted Commonwealth service provider that:
  • contravenes a law
  • is corrupt
  • perverts the course of justice
  • results in wastage of public funds or property
  • is an abuse of public trust
  • unreasonably endangers health and safety or endangers the environment
  • is misconduct relating to scientific research, analysis or advice
  • is maladministration, including conduct that is unjust, oppressive or negligent

Who can make a disclosure?

A current or former ‘public official’ can disclose information that they believe on reasonable grounds tends to show disclosable conduct. This broad term includes Australian Government public servants and parliamentary service employees, members of the Defence force, staff and directors of Commonwealth companies, statutory office holders and staff of Commonwealth contracted service providers.

Protections for the person who makes the disclosure

The identity of a person who makes a disclosure will be kept confidential as far as practicable. It is an offence to provide identifying information about a person who makes a disclosure without their consent unless authorised by the PID Act.

Authorised Officers

Under the PID Act, each agency must appoint authorised officers to handle public interest disclosures. Disclosures can also be made to a supervisor/manager, who must pass it to an authorised officer. For the purposes of this Act the following staff have been appointed as authorised officers:

Authorised Officers - Department of Health

Name

Title

E-mail

Phone No.

Nathan Hyson

Director

Nathan.Hyson@health.gov.au

(02) 6289 9452

Michael Ryan

Director

Michael.Ryan@health.gov.au

(02) 6289 9037

Mel Dwyer

Assistant Director

Mel.Dwyer@health.gov.au

(07) 3360 2947

Sandy Youren

Medical Officer

Sandy.Youren@health.gov.au

(03) 9637 4133

Hongxia Jin

Director

Hongxia.Jin@health.gov.au

(02) 6221 6782

Avi Rebera

Assistant Secretary

Avi.Rebera@health.gov.au

(02) 6232 8108

Eric McIntosh

Director

Eric.McIntosh@health.gov.au

(02) 6232 8737

Luke Wurst

Assistant Director

Luke.Wurst@health.gov.au

(02) 6289 8493

Roshini Jayewardene

Director

roshini.jayewardene@health.gov.au

(02) 8577 8860

David Elliot

Legal

David.Elliot@health.gov.au

(02) 6289 5127

Masha Somi

Assistant Secretary

Masha.Somi@health.gov.au

(02) 6289 7705

Craig Boyd

Chief Financial Officer

Craig.Boyd@health.gov.au

(02) 6289 7944

Michael Dornbusch

Assistant Secretary

Michael.Dornbusch@health.gov.au

(02) 6271 4255

Kerri-Anne Reeves

Assistant Director

Kerri-Anne.Reeves@health.gov.au

(07) 3360 2802

Claire O’Moore

Departmental Officer

Claire.O’Moore@health.gov.au

(02) 9263 3776

Dianne Robinson

Departmental Officer

Dianne.Robinson@health.gov.au

(08) 8237 8318

Rebecca McIlroy

Assistant Director

Rebecca.McIlroy@health.gov.au

(08) 9346 5335

Michelle Paschkow

Assistant Director

Michelle.Paschkow@health.gov.au

(03) 9665 8955

Amanda Innes-Brown

Assistant Director

Amanda.Innes-Brown@health.gov.au

(03) 6221 1408

Katie Esser

Departmental Officer

Kate.ESSER@health.gov.au

(03) 6221 1547

Who can a disclosure be made to?

You can make a disclosure to your current supervisor or manager, an authorised officer, or alternatively to PublicInterestDisclosure@health.gov.au.

Further information

Further information regarding the Public Interest Disclosure Act can be found on the Ombudsman’s website. Top of Page